Leinster Junior League Premier Division Sunday (Soccer) 1975-1980

LJL Premier Division (Sun.) 1976-77

Fatima Rangers (C)26233049
Zhivago Celtic26213245
St. Audeons26156536
St. Teresa’s26153833
Carnlough Rovers261421030
Alto United261241028
Dorset Celtic261151027
Ringsend Rovers261051125
Spiddel Park261131225
Liffey Wanderers261021422
Anner United26631715
Palmerstown Rangers26711815
St. Mochta’s (R)26621814
Oliver Bond Rangers (R)2600260
Leinster Junior League Premier Division Final Table 1976-77 [Reference: 2]

Promoted from Division 1 after 1976-77 season: St. Agnes, Maynooth Town, Drimnagh Dynamo. Carlow Town joined from LJL Premier Counties Division (Regional Leinster Division).

LJL Premier Division (Sun.) 1977-78

Fatima Rangers (C)30253253
St. Teresa’s30253253
Drimnagh Dynamo30185741
Maynooth Town30166838
St. Audeon’s30174938
Palmerstown Rangers301551134
St. Agnes301171229
Zhivago Celtic301091129
Spiddal Park301161328
Alto United30891325
Anner United30961524
Carlow Town30961524
Liffey Wanderers30871523
Carnlough Rovers (R)30841820
Dorset Celtic (R)30352211
Ringsend Rovers (R)30432311
Leinster Junior League Premier Division Final Table 1977-78 [Reference: 3]

Playoff: Fatima Rangers beat St. Teresa’s in test match to become Champions. [Reference: 3]

Promoted from Division 1 after 1977-78 season: Mourne Celtic, Ballymun Athletic.

Note: After season Alto United changed name to Rialto. Carlow Town left League.

LJL Premier Division (Sun.) 1978-79

St. Teresa’s (C)26175439
Zhivago Celtic26165537
Spiddal Park26146634
Tymon Bawn26143931
Drimnagh Dynamo26118730
East Cabra26107927
Palmerstown Rangers26116928
Liffey Wanderers26781122
Mourne Celtic26951223
St. Agnes26931421
Ballymun Athletic26761320
Maynooth Town26681220
Rialto (R)26761320
Anner United (R)26351811
Leinster Junior League Premier Division Final Table 1978-79 [Reference: 4]

Promoted from Division 1 after 1978-79 season: St. Mochta’s, Athy Town.

LJL Premier Division (Sun.) 1979-80

St. Teresa’s (C)26224048
St. Mochta’s26194342
Drimnagh Dynamo26182638
Palmerstown Rangers26135831
Ballymun Athletic26116928
Rialto FC261231127
Liffey Wanderers261041224
Mourne Celtic261041224
Maynooth Town261031323
East Cabra26771221
Spiddal Park26671319
Athy Town26671319
Tymon Bawn26821618
St. Agnes2611243
Leinster Junior League Premier Division Final Table 1979-80 [Reference: 5]


(C) Champions. (R) Relegated. Points System: 2 Pts Win, 1 Pt Draw, 0 Pts Loss.


Fatima Rangers won the Premier Division Title in 1976-77 & 1977-78, the latter after a victory against St. Teresa’s in a Test Match after the two sides finished level on points. St. Teresa’s made no mistake the following two seasons, winning the title on both occasions.


The Leinster Junior League was the Junior Level Soccer League for South Dublin and neighbouring Counties such as Kildare, Offaly & Carlow, before it was absorbed by the Leinster Senior League.

There were two parallel sections: the main (Metro) section for South Dublin and a Counties Section for the Regional Leinster Counties. The Premier Division was the Top Division in the Leinster Junior League.

Republic of Ireland Soccer Pyramid

Republic of Ireland Men’s Club Soccer is divided into three levels – Senior, Intermediate and Junior.

  1. Senior Level The Football Association of Ireland League of Ireland constitutes the Senior Level with 2 Divisions – Premier Division and Division 1.
  2. Intermediate Level: Provincial Leagues – Leinster, Munster, Ulster, Connacht – which contain the Intermediate ranked teams.
  3. Junior Level: Below the Intermediate Provincial Leagues are the Junior County Leagues.
  4. Local Level: Football Fives constitute an unofficial fourth level in pyramid, with each League based in a Local Football Fives Complex.


Sources / Newspapers

[2] Anon. (1977) “Up-to-date league tables” Evening Herald. Tuesday, June 28, 1977. [pg. 13 Irish Newspaper Archive: https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/ ]

[3] Anon. (1978) “Leinster Junior League” Evening Herald. Tuesday, June 20, 1978. [pg. 12 Irish Newspaper Archive: https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/ ]

[4] Anon. (1979) “Leinster Junior League” Evening Herald. Tuesday, June 26, 1979. [pg. 14 Irish Newspaper Archive: https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/ ]

[5] Anon. (1980) “Bernadettes triumph in Conway Cup” Evening Herald. Tuesday, June 10, 1980. [pg. 12 Irish Newspaper Archive: https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/ ]


Thanks to Jason Caldwell, Alan McCormack, Paul Nolan, Andrew McGovern, Colm Murray, Niall Brennan.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 14 February 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *