Leinster Senior Football League | Division 1 1980-1988

Leinster Senior Football League Logo [11]

LSFL Division 1 1980-81

Railway Union341712546
Hammond Lane341671139
Aer Lingus341591039
CIE Transport341313839
St. Joseph’s Boys341471335
Ballyfermot United341471335
TEK United3411121134
Bluebell United3411111233
Glebe North341351631
Dunleary Celtic341191431
Workmen’s Club349131231
Boyne Rovers349131231
Bray Wanderers346141426
– Cherrywood Athletic341051925
– St. James’ Gate34652317

Reference: [1]

LSFL Division 1 1981-82

*Bluebell United291312438
Railway Union291113535
Bray Wanderers30139935
Glebe North301541134
St. Joseph’s Boys28137833
Workmen’s Club28127931
Hammond Lane3010101030
Dunleary Celtic301171229
Aer Lingus308101226
CIE Transport29961424
Boyne Rovers30781522
– TEK United306101422
– Ballyfermot United29841720

Reference: [2]

LSFL Division 1 1982-83

*Hammond Lane26186242
Bluebell United25183439
Dunleary Celtic25119531
Bray Wanderers25116828
Railway Union25115927
St. Joseph’s Boys26871123
CIE Transport26861222
Boyne Rovers25691021
Workmen’s Club26661418
– Glebe North26731617
– Aer Lingus25561416

Reference: [1]

LSFL Division 1 1983-84

*Bluebell United26156536
Dunleary Celtic251110431
Hammond Lane26127731
Boyne Rovers26117829
Workmen’s Club261151027
Bank of Ireland261061026
Bray Wanderers26712726
St. Joseph’s Boys266101022
St. Mary’s Athlone24771021
– Belgrove26691121
Railway Union26691121
– CIE Transport25651417

Reference: [4]

LSFL Division 1 1984-85

*St. Mary’s Athlone26177241
Bluebell United26166438
Hammond Lane26153833
Railway Union26126830
St. Joseph’s Boys26118730
Ballyfermot United26912530
Bank of Ireland26611923
Workmen’s Club26611923
Bank Rovers26691121
Bray Wanderers265111021
Dunleary Celtic263101316
– Boyne Rovers26381514

Reference: [5]

LSFL Division 1 1985-86

*Glebe North26148436
Bluebell United261310336
Bank Rovers26108828
St. Joseph’s Boys26910728
Railway Union26811727
Ballyfermot United2698926
Workmen’s Club2698926
TEK United2689925
St. Mary’s Athlone26861222
Bank of Ireland26681220
Dunleary Celtic26591219
– AIB264101218
– Hammond Lane26571417

Reference: [6]

LSFL Division 1 1986-87

TEK United26157434
Bluebell United26157434
Ballyfermot United261110532
Bank of Ireland25119531
Bank Rovers2588924
St. James’s Gate26961124
St. Mary’s Athletic25871023
Railway Union26951223
St. Josephs Boys26781122
Dunleary Celtic25691021
Glebe North265101120
Workmans Club261111413

Reference: [7]

LSFL Division 1 1987-88

*St. James’s Gate301411539
Bluebell United301410638
Bank Rovers30157837
Dublin City301213537
Lusk United28138734
St. Joseph’s301111833
Ballyfermot United29914532
Glebe North28109929
TEK United28911829
Bank of Ireland308101226
Workmans Club29891225
Railway Union306101422
St. Mary’s29591519
Dunleary Celtic29661718

Reference: [8]


The LSFL Division 1 was won by a different club nearly every year between 1980-81 and 1987-88, with only Bluebell United winning a second time (81-82 & 83-84). Pegasus won the title in 1980-81 and Hammond Lane in 1982-83. St. Mary’s Athlone took the trophy out of Dublin in 1984-85, and Glebe North, TEK United and St. James’s Gate won it the following three years.

The League was re-organised for the 1988-89 season, with Divisions 1 & 1A replaced by the Senior Division and Division 1 respectively.



Republic of Ireland Men’s Club Soccer is divided into three levels – Senior, Intermediate and Junior. The FAI League of Ireland constitutes the Senior Level with 1 Division in the 1980s.

The Provincial Leagues lie below this, as Intermediate Levels – with the Leinster Senior Football League being the Provincial League for the East of Ireland.

The LSFL Division 1 was Tier 1 of the LSFL and Tier 2 in the Republic of Ireland.




[1] Anon. (1981) “Leinster League Final Table”. Irish Independent. Monday, 22 June, 1981. pg. 12

[2] Anon. (1982) “Joeys Best”. Irish Independent. Monday, 24 May 1982. pp. 12

[3] Anon. (1983) “Soccer Scoreboard “. Irish Independent. Monday, 23 May 1983. pp. 10

[4] Anon. (1984) “Soccer Scoreboard “. Irish Independent. Monday, 21 May 1984. pp. 14

[5] Anon. (1985) “Ban boost for Robson “. Irish Independent. Monday, 3 June, 1985. pp. 14

[6] Anon. (1986) “Facts & Figures “. Irish Independent. Monday, May 26, 1986. pp. 16

[7] Anon. (1987) “Soccer Scoreboard “. Irish Independent. Monday, May 25 1987. pp. 11

[8] Anon. (1988) “Soccer Scoreboard “. Irish Independent. Monday, May 16 1988. pp. 11


[11] Leinster Senior League (2019) Logo [Internet] Available from: https://lsl.ie/img/logo.png[Accessed 24 September 2019]

Note: Past copies of the Irish Independent & Evening Herald are available to view online at the Irish Newspaper Archive: https://www.irishnewsarchive.com/ which is a subscription service.


Thanks to Gareth Quigley & Paul O’Reilly.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 29 October 2019

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2019

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *